Psychic Shield

“I wouldn’t do that if I were you,” The voice of a complete stranger suddenly says. A woman’s voice.

I raise my eyes from the teacup in my hands. I’d been staring into it at the break room for don’t know how long without seeing any real answers to the troubles in my mind.

This woman I have never met before is beautiful, though not in a conventional way. As she stands before me, not too tall, not too short, her beauty shines radiant from within a perfectly ordinary external appearance. Slightly plump. Her clothes are neat, but nothing special. No brand. Her shoes are plain.

Perhaps I’m the only one who sees it.

But no. How conceited of me to think that even for an instant.

I am sure everyone who sees her, recognizes the beauty within her… I am not that observant. I never have been.

“Do what?” I ask.

“You were thinking of robbing the Baanshiren Bank,” she says. “Don’t do it. They have a psychic security shield that isn’t listed in their security features or marked in any of their blueprints. You’d be mad within ten minutes of starting the attempt, and would take years to recover. If ever.”

“What..?” How does she know..? “It was only a passing thought. I was not serious… And how do you know this?”

“What you were thinking? Or about the shield?”

“Both.”

“Isn’t it obvious? I am psychic. And I erected that shield.”

“Ah… I suppose… such things are possible?”

“You better believe they are. For your own sake,” she says. “For the sake of your mental health. Your sanity.”

She stands in front of me. Plain as day.

How did she get here?

I thought I was alone in the break room. I haven’t heard a door. And she clearly doesn’t work here. We all wear certain things in this building, from the janitor to the boss, and she does not.

“How did you get in here?” I ask. “Should I call security?”

“I am Security,” she says. “Though not of this place.”

“What..??”

“If you are quite done now thinking of doing an insanely dangerous thing, for no one robs the Baanshiren Bank and walks away sane, I will be leaving. Please remember this encounter for the rest of your natural life. Have a good day,” she says, and disappears into thin air with a snap of her fingers.

Whaaaat..??? Holyyy… Have I gone insane?! Has the stress of not enough money and too many mouths to feed, too many bills to pay finally got to me?? I… 

I will not be robbing the Baanshiren Bank. That’s for sure.

I just hope I’l be able to keep on working.

Leave a comment